Parents are most welcome to attend Governors meetings as observers and copies of previous minutes are available on request from the school office


Meet the Governors


Mrs L West
Co-opted Governor

Mr D Reed
Co-opted Governor
Chair of Governors

Mrs N Jackson
Co-opted Governor
Chair of Finance

Claire Poole
Co-opted Governor

Mr J Gliddon
Parent Goveror
Vice Chair of Governors


Miss J Liley
Interim Headteacher


Ms C Stephenson
LEA Governor

Cllr.S Pearce
LEA Governor

Mrs N Ferguson
Co-opted Governor

Mrs J Szost
Staff Governor


Mr K Hawkins
Staff Governor

Jill Gettrup
Parent Governor

Lisa Rawcliffe
Associate Governor

Peter Fullergreen
Co-opted Governor




Welcome from the Chair of Governors

Dear Parents, Carers and Friends of Air Balloon Hill Primary School,

Thank you for taking the time to visit the governor pages on the ABHPS website.

I have had the honour to be Chair of Governors since September 2016, taking on the mantle from Mrs Lisa West. I have been a governor for five years, serving as chair of the Finance committee until September 2016.

We want all our children to develop their full academic and social potential.  Becoming responsible caring adults in their later lives. As a board of governors, we feel the school does an admirable job achieving this but no school is perfect.  It is the role of the Board of Governors to work with the Headteacher and staff to act as a ‘critical friend’. We support and challenge the school to achieve even more for our children.

We are responsible for: 

  • monitoring and evaluating the performance and effectiveness of the school
  • ensuring that the budget is managed prudently 
  • supporting our excellent staff and school leaders.

We offer a broad, balanced curriculum and aim for enjoyment in learning in the classroom and beyond. Our experienced and dedicated staff work in partnership with parents and children.  Providing the children the best education possible.

One of the key roles of the Governing Body is appointing a new Headteacher. This has been the Governors main focus over the last two terms following Mr. Worsfold’s decision to take a well-earned retirement at Easter. The recruitment process culminated in the appointment of Mr Tim Browse who starts as Headteacher in September 2017. In the meantime, our Deputy Headteacher Ms Julie Liley, is stepping up to be our interim Headteacher for terms five and six. I look forward to working with both, ensuring the smoothest possible transition at this exciting time in the school’s history.

Thank you once again for taking the time to visit the governor webpage

Dan Reed

Chair of Governors


Special Events

    Check out our list of amazing things to do both locally and further afield.

    View Here